Author Topic: Resource stall every few seconds  (Read 367 times)

jrnhtown04

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Resource stall every few seconds
« on: April 01, 2021, 02:42:31 PM »
First, I'd like to thank you for all your work on this addon. I have been using it for many years. Even a long time ago when the addon went dorment, I was still trying to use it. Thanks for picking it back up.

Lately, I have noticed a resource stall or FPS drop every 5 seconds. No matter if fighting or standing still. I isolated the issue to Autobar by having only Autobar enabled. I don't use the Extras or Class bars, only Basic bar. I have tried a bunch of troubleshooting to try and isolate the issue. I've tried disabling buttons on the bar, but to no avail. Only thing that stops it is if I disable Basic bar.

It seems to happen during the "update," or "fetch" system that occurs every 5 seconds.

Before you ask, yes, I have the latest release. Any assistance with a possible fix will be greatly appreciated. Even if there is no fix I'm still extremely grateful.

I understand how much time goes into one of these addons. So I must say, Thank you very much from the bottom of my heart.  :)

MuffinManKen

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 419
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Resource stall every few seconds
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2021, 04:26:18 PM »
Some classes/specs seem more prone to this than others.  What class/spec are you playing?

You can try unchecking "Allow SPELLS_CHANGED" in the Autobar config.

If that doesn't help, try enabling "Log Performance", which should print out some info when these performance hits happen. If you can give me that info, I can dig deeper on the issue.


jrnhtown04

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Resource stall every few seconds
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2021, 07:42:25 PM »
Thank you for the reply.

I'm playing MM Hunter with pet dismissed. I did /reload after unchecking "Allow SPELLS_CHANGED," but that didn't help.

With "Log Performance" checked, I get nothing in the chat window. However, with "Log Events" checked by it's self, here's what I'm seeing:

UNIT_SPELLCAST_SUCCEEDED arg1  player time: 2175506.83
UNIT_AURA arg1 player time: 2175506.83
UNIT_AURA arg1 player time: 2175507.417

Should I get you the "Log Memory" info?

MuffinManKen

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 419
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Resource stall every few seconds
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2021, 09:31:04 PM »
No, I'll dig some more and see if I can find anything. Sorry about this.

MuffinManKen

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 419
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Resource stall every few seconds
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2021, 07:53:59 PM »
Thank you for the reply.

I'm playing MM Hunter with pet dismissed. I did /reload after unchecking "Allow SPELLS_CHANGED," but that didn't help.

With "Log Performance" checked, I get nothing in the chat window. However, with "Log Events" checked by it's self, here's what I'm seeing:

UNIT_SPELLCAST_SUCCEEDED arg1  player time: 2175506.83
UNIT_AURA arg1 player time: 2175506.83
UNIT_AURA arg1 player time: 2175507.417

Should I get you the "Log Memory" info?

I've tested this on multiple PCs and I cannot reproduce this, which makes it very hard to find a fix.

Could you try setting Log Events again and seeing if there's a pattern to the stall? For example, every time there is a hiccup a UNIT_AURA event happens, or something like that.

Also, I don't know why this would matter but are you playing on Windows or do you use a different OS?